Today’s unreasonable whining comes from the Huffington Post, where a college grad who racked up $100,000 in student debt complains about said debt.

Let me get this straight: Sara chose an expensive private school even though she was offered a full ride to her state school, studied abroad in the United Kingdom, and now says “I’m not stupid, but I’m still not sure what I’ve gotten myself into and all those zeros are overwhelming. Hopefully if my mom keeps working her second job and I keep driving my jalopy Toyota around for the rest of my life, we can pay it off before I’m 80.”

For comparison, I went to one of my last choice schools (a state school in South Carolina) because they offered the lowest tuition and most AP credit.  Once I got there, I found a job working retail 20-30 hours a week so that I could pay most of my own expenses.  Then I took extra courses so that I could graduate early, and skipped the study abroad because it didn’t fit my budget or early graduation time line.

And guess what?  I still managed to enjoy my time in college, take great classes, meet great people and find a great job once I graduated, with no debt.  So no, I don’t really feel bad for people who willingly take on $100,000 in loans for their UNDERGRADUATE degree.  Especially because the solution they recommend usually has something to do with taxpayers footing their extravagant college experience, or government protecting them from evil student lenders.

I plan to keep a folder of stories like these, so that when my hypothetical kids are preparing to go to college, I can offer them up some examples of what it means to choose the private school at the expense of your future.

